Culture Kultur - Spirit Album Review
Track Listing
01 - Sieged
02 - Blind Man
03 - Love Will Tear Us Apart
04 - Dead Second
05 - Drum Machine
06 - Unforgiven
07 - Toxic Pulse
08 - Never Again
09 - Silence
10 - My Voice
11 - I Found You

Spirit is the first release by Culture Kultur since their split from previous label Out Of Line. Now housed on home grown Spanish label Caustic Records, they are back in full force to launch themselves up their near the top of the synthpop genre.

Nearly every track is of the highest quality and the album consists of very few “filler” tracks. Right from the start, opening track “Sieged” starts us off with a good synth melody that builds up to full force. The vocals are powerfully driven over the top and match well with the melody and beats underneath.

One of the highlights of the album is Culture Kultur’s cover of the Joy Division classic, “Love Will Tear Us Apart”. A song which was originally quite slow and depressing has been given a fast beat and synth melodies to make it dance floor friendly. The synth back off into the background for the verse to come in full force in the chorus. The song is given a whole new feel while still staying true to the original.

The album is vocally full of hard hitting real topics. Where as “Drum Machine” provides a thought provoking look at choosing music over religion, while “Unforgiven” looks at growing up and taking on the stress and pressures of adulthood.

“Silence” despite being a good track sounds about too much like VNV Nation’s track “Illusion” which sadly lets it down a bit. It is clear that VNV Nation have had a huge influence on Culture Kultur and helped develop the sound featured on Spirit, which in itself is no bad thing.

Spirit may be Culture Kultur’s first album in 5 years but it is obvious they have spent time working the album to perfection. Hopefully it won’t be as long a wait until the bands follow up release.
Posted on 21 Oct 2010 by Jason
Content Management Powered by CuteNews